Starks Planning Board Meeting

April 3, 2024

Present: Gwen Hilton, Ken Lust, Claire Nelson, Byrne Wright, Joe Hartigan, Tiffany Bellefleur

Guests: Maggie Wright, Joe Hayden

Adequate public notice was given of the meeting, a quorum was present, and no conflicts of interest or bias were reported.

The minutes of the January 10, 2024 meeting were approved by unanimous consent.

New Business:

Building Ordinance:

The Building Ordinance was approved by voters at the March Town Meeting without comment or discussion. Gwen worked with the CEO to develop a Building Permit Application which reflects the standards outlined in the new Ordinance. Both the Ordinance and the Application have been uploaded to the Town website.

Permitting Fees:

The Solar Energy Facility Permitting & Licensing Fees Schedule was enacted by the Selectboard in November 2023. The proposed fee schedule for other permit applications is currently under review. The Planning Board recommends that fees be reasonable and not overly punitive. Charges for permits are an insignificant contribution to the Town's overall budget and should not be set for the purpose of raising tax revenues. Gwen will research what other towns of similar size are charging for fees to help inform the Board's recommendations to the Selectboard.

Other concerns:

The Town does not currently have a Plumbing Inspector. This is an issue faced by many communities and has serious implications for future development.

Gwen will follow up with the COE on the status of possible violations of existing regulations both on the Branns Mills Rd (junkyard), and at the Pit Bull Firing Range (tires).

Health issues are of concern (rats & feral cats) when dumpsters are left overflowing and not regularly scheduled for pickup. It may be feasible to investigate some form of accountability.

Planning Board membership updates:

Joe Hartigan's appointment was renewed.

In accordance with Section IV, A (Organization) of its by-Laws, the Board elected officers for the upcoming year. A motion was made and carried to re-elect the existing slate of officers.

Chair: Gwen Hilton

Vice Chair: Ken Lust

Secretary: Claire Nelson

Adjourn: 7:25

Respectfully submitted,

Claire Nelson, Secretary